Charlotte County Traffic Ticket Attorney – DUI Lawyer in Charlotte County

              Charlotte County is home to beautiful Punta Gorda and Port Charlotte. Approximately 160,000 people call Charlotte County home. Charlotte County has wonderful nature preservations including an alligator reservation, Cayo Costa, and many other nature walks. Pine Island and Gaspar Island are included in county limits. Both locations draw a large number of visitors that are interested in history, especially Florida history. With Interstate 75, State Road 78, and many other highways and major thoroughfares crossing the county, there are plenty of traffic citations issued in the county.

              If you have received a traffic citation, you can request a hearing in writing (for a civil infraction) from the Clerk of the Court at the courthouse within thirty (30) days of the citation. This is in an effort to contest your ticket. The courthouse is located at 227 Taylor Street, Punta Gorda, Florida. The courthouse is also where you would go should you choose to elect Driver Improvement School. Thirty (30) days from the citation, you have to let the Clerk of the Court know in writing that you would like to elect to a Driver Improvement Course. Your course must be complete within ninety (90) days from the date of the citation. You may only take the citation five (5) times in your lifetime, and only once within a twelve (12) month period. By taking a Driver Improvement Course, it may lower the cost of your fine or fee. Also a Driver Improvement Course will keep points off of your license.

              There is a points system in the state of Florida, for which there are points put on your license for any traffic violation. These points are allocated as follows:

Non-moving violations: 0 points

Moving violations not resulting in a collision, littering, child restraint violations, or speeding 15 miles per hour over the speed limit or less: 3 points

Unlawful speed over 16 miles per hour over the speed limit, reckless driving, passing a stopped school bus: 4 points

Moving violations resulting in a collision or leaving the scene of the accident with damage more than $50: 6 points

The points add up over time. If you accrue twelve (12) points in a year, your license could be suspended for one month. Eighteen (18) points over eighteen (18) months could result in a license suspension of three months. Finally, an accrual of twenty-four (24) points in three years can result in a license suspension of one year. The points also can cause your insurance premiums to go up. The more points you have, the more likely your insurance company will render you a “high risk” driver. In these situations, they will issue you a SR-22 insurance policy, which will cost up to four times as much in premiums as a safe driver. A Charlotte County Traffic Attorney can also assist you in keeping points off your record if you are ineligible to take the course or would rather go through the legal process of a hearing.

              If you have a criminal violation, you should also seek the assistance of a Punta Gorda or Port Charlotte Traffic Attorney who can assist you in understanding the process, your rights, and the possible outcomes for your case. A criminal violation will require a hearing. For these hearings; the arresting or citation issuing officer; any witnesses; the judge; you; and, if you chose to hire one, a Charlotte County Traffic Attorney will be in attendance.

              A Punta Gorda or Port Charlotte Speeding Ticket Lawyer can assist you in keeping points off of your license and your insurance premiums at a lower rate. They can explain your rights to you, possible defenses to your set of facts, and any possibilities of a favorable outcome to your case. They can also assist in any criminal proceedings. Reach out to a Punta Gorda or Port Charlotte Traffic Attorney today to ensure your rights are heard in court and you reach the best case scenario for your case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *