Unlawful Display of License Citation in Florida
Driving in Florida is considered a privilege, not a necessity. In order for an individual to legally drive in Florida they must obtain a valid driver’s license. This license allows them to legally drive a motor vehicle in the state and is used as an identification card for the owner of the license.
In Florida an unlawful display of a driver’s license is considered a criminal offense and will be charged as such on a person’s criminal record and driving record.
What constitutes as an unlawful display of a license?
The following scenarios would result in an individual being charged with an unlawful display of license violation:
- The individual knowingly presents a driver’s license that was not issued to them
- The individual knowingly presents a driver’s license that is suspended
- The individual knowingly presents a driver’s license that has been revoked or canceled
- The individual knowingly presents a license that has expired
In addition, it is a criminal offense if an individual allows another person to use their license for identification. It is also a criminal offense if a person has in their possession two driver’s licenses. This commonly occurs when a person requests a new license with a change of address and forgets to throw their old one away when they receive their new one.
The penalties for an unlawful display of a driver’s license are:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to six months of probation
- Up to a $500 fine
Each individual case various in the defense for the charge, but the most important fact in regards to anunlawful display of a license charge is that a person must KNOWINGLY present an unlawful license. This is very difficult for a prosecution to prove because the driver may have been completely unaware that the license they were presenting was not valid.
Finebloom, Haenel& Higgins
We have over 30 years of experience with fighting unlawful displays of licenses charges and we know the proper defense tactics that will help to minimize or eliminate your charges. Contact us today and set up a free consultation so that we can hear all about your charges and move forward with helping you fight your case. Call us at 1-800-FIGHT-IT (1-800-344-4848).