Careless Driving in Florida – You’ll Care If You’re Charged!
Getting pulled over is always stressful, but when cited for careless driving, there are many factors to keep in mind.
First, Florida law concerning “careless driving” is rather vague. The law states:
“… Any person operating a vehicle upon the streets or highways within the state shall drive the same in a careful and prudent manner, having regard for the width, graves, curves, corners, traffic and all other attendant circumstances, so as not to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person… Failure to drive in such a manner shall constitute careless driving and a violation…”
Careless driving charges are often interchanged with “reckless” driving charges, but they are indeed different. Careless driving implies the driver is operating a vehicle in a fashion potentially dangerous to others and is unaware that their driving is causing this, where as “reckless” driving implies the driver is willingly and knowingly operating the vehicle in an unsafe manner. They are penalized almost identically in Florida, however.
If a person is charged with a careless driving violation they will be looking at a fine of $160 to $500. They will also receive 4 points on their driving record. This will cause their insurance costs to rise and their license may be in jeopardy of a suspension depending on the number of points they have already accrued on their license.
There are, however, actions that can be taken to lessen the charge- or even fight it altogether. In almost every careless driving charge that has been successfully beaten, the main arguments revolve around proof. What constituted the police officer’s findings? As this charge relies almost entirely on the charging police officer’s opinion, it can be fought readily in court.
Take the Next Step and Consult with an Experienced Lawyer
At Finebloom, Haenel and Higgins, we will make sure that you receive the best service available for your careless driving violation. We havefought thousands of cases dealing with careless driving citations. Our attorneys have over 30 years of experience in criminal law and know the law inside and out so that we can ensure our defendantsreceive the best possible outcome. Call one of our attentive and friendly staff member’s today at 1-800-FIGHT-IT (1-800-344-4848). We are available around the clock so that you will always reach a person when you need to speak with someone about your case.We will take the time to get every pertinent detail in regard to your individual careless driving charge. We take pride in our experience and professionalism, and will do everything in our power to ensure you receive the best defense possible for your case.