Violation of a Traffic Control Device in Florida
Violation of a Traffic Control Devise is, defined in Florida statutes, as:
“The driver of any vehicle shall obey the instructions of any official traffic control device… No person shall drive any vehicle from roadway to another roadway to avoid obeying the indicated traffic control indicated by such traffic control device…”
The most common charges that individuals receive in regards to a violation of a traffic control device are:
- Failure to yield or stop at a stop sign or yield sign
- Running a red light
- Illegal U-turn
- Ignoring flashing lights or portable/temporary signs
- Encroaching on a crosswalk
- Railroad crossing infractions
All over parkways, highways, and residential roads, there are signs and signals that let drivers know what they need to do in order to ensure a safe drive. These signs include but are not limited to, speed limit signs, traffic lights, pedestrian crossing signs, pedestrian crossing lights, railroad crossing signs and lights, lane merging signs, speed hump signs, school zone signs, school zone lights, construction work signs, reduce speed signs, stop signs and yield signs. It is a driver’s responsibility to know the meanings of said signs and abide by the rules of each traffic sign or signal.
If a driver does not comply with the rules of the traffic sign or signal then they will be charged with a violation of a traffic control device.
For most violations of traffic control devices, if charged and not fought, it could warrant up to three points on an individual’s driver’s license. Three points on an individual’s driving record will most definitely raise insurance rates and is perhaps the most negative affect of the charge in addition to the fine.
As well as this, an offender could face suspension or revocation of their driver’s license if they accumulate too many points within a given time frame.
Depending on the specific charge, there are varied penalties associated with violation of a traffic control device. For example, the base fine is $158.00 for this violation when a driver has failed to stop at a traffic signal or stop sign. There is also an additional $10.00 added per infraction for any noncriminal moving and nonmoving violations.
Violation of traffic control devices varies from county to county in Florida, but they typically range from $100 to $300 dollars. However, if people were injured or an accident occurred from the violation, higher fines will be charged and further penalties will be administered, such as jail time.
Let Us Fight For You
Call our professional, courteous, and reliable attorneys here at Finebloom,Haenel& Higgins today so that we can qualify your individual case and help prepare the best defense possible towards fighting your charge. We have successfully represented many clients in cases involving infractions of traffic control devices mentioned above as well as those involving no passing zones, improper lane changes, and many others.We are available 24 hours a day, and we are only a phone call away! Call now and set up a free consultation! 1-800-FIGHT-IT (1-800-344-4848).