A reckless driving traffic violation can cause complications in potential job prospects, especially if the offender is looking for a career in the police force, the military, or other driving and transport roles. A reckless driving conviction is classified as a criminal conviction and can stay on your record for up to 11 years. This can have a negative impact, as many employers will look at this conviction unfavorably and could potentially disqualify your application.
You may not necessarily have to report reckless driving on your job applications in Florida, depending on how old the driving conviction is. A reckless driving conviction may stay on your license for up to 10 years, but you may only need to declare it on a job application or to insurance providers for up to 5 years. Employers have the right to conduct a criminal background check on current or potential employees. If you are convicted of reckless driving, then this will most certainly appear on this check, which will jeopardize your job application or current employment.
Call The Ticket Lawyers today to speak to our experienced attorneys for a free consultation. They have experience in dealing with reckless driving charges and will be able to help you avoid penalties and other consequences caused as a result of reckless driving. Contact us today at (855)-323-8488.
A reckless driving charge can stay on your driving record for up to 10 years. This cannot be removed from your driving record and will show up on any background check that a potential employer conducts. A reckless driving charge cannot be removed or expunged from your driving history unless specific criteria are met. This is because it is a criminal misdemeanor. If asked for by your employer or potential employer, you should always report the charge. However, most employers will only ask you to disclose the last ten years of any criminal convictions.
If the reckless driving conviction is within the last ten years, this may affect the type of jobs you can apply for. For example, any driving opportunities may refuse to employ you based on your record along with any type of enforcement role, i.e., police, military, etc. This may also have an effect on your current role if you are responsible for driving company vehicles, as a reckless driving conviction may make you ineligible to use company vehicles.
A reckless driving conviction can only be removed in certain circumstances and only if certain criteria are met. Details of these criteria can be found under Florida Statute 943.0585. If you meet the criteria for your record to be sealed or expunged, this will prevent it from showing up on any public or private search conducted by employers. Below are the circumstances in which a driving conviction can be sealed or expunged:
If you fall into any of these categories, then you need to seek legal representation as soon as you are able. This process can be complicated and stressful. Here at The Ticket Lawyers, we have dedicated attorneys who are skilled in dealing with traffic violations such as a reckless driving conviction. Contact us today for a free consultation.
Unfortunately, most applications will require you to disclose any convictions or misdemeanors. In most cases, employers will disqualify a candidate’s job application if the offense is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor or a felony and if the job role is directly linked to the offense. For example, if you have chosen to apply for a delivery driver role, this misdemeanor can prevent you from successfully obtaining this type of employment.
If you have a misdemeanor on your record, then it would be wise to report it to your potential employer. Any dishonesty on your job application may come out further down the line. It could result in immediate dismissal from the new role and the business, or the disqualification of your job application, despite being otherwise qualified.
In the State of Florida, a ticket for “failure to maintain control” would usually be classed as careless driving, which differs from reckless driving. In Florida Statute 316.1925, a careless driving charge is categorized as failure to operate a vehicle in a careful and prudent manner. A reckless driving charge is classified as a willful and wanton disregard for people and property and is classed as a criminal offense.
If you are charged with failure to maintain control, then this can be disputed in court. In most cases, it can be difficult to prove your state of mind at the time of the offense, which is why it is highly recommended that you seek legal counsel. If this is something that is related to your case and you wish to contest this in court, then contact The Ticket Lawyers today. We have attorneys available 24/7 to help you with your case.
If you or a loved one is worried about a job application as a result of a reckless driving violation, then get in touch today. Here at The Ticket Lawyers, we have skilled and dedicated attorneys available 24/7 to assist you and provide you with information on your reckless driving charge. Call us today at (855)-323-8488.
It is easy to pick up speeding tickets in Florida, and many people dismiss them as being non-serious events that have few consequences. However, it is important to be aware that even though speeding tickets that are issued for going well above the posted limit are not usually classed as felonies, they do come with […] read more
The state of Florida has very strict driving laws that prohibit all kinds of speeding, and although the charges won’t necessarily carry a jail sentence, you will definitely find yourself with a fine and points on your license if you are caught speeding. However, while you can’t go to jail for speeding, you can receive […] read more
Every state in America has a similar point system when it comes to driving violations, but Florida’s point system is particularly strict compared to the others. If you are caught by law enforcement violating the laws and regulations of the road, then you will receive points on your license, with the number of points depending […] read more
Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course. A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the […] read more
Everyone knows that being caught speeding is annoying, especially if you were pulled over for going only 9 mph over the speed limit. Police often let people off with warnings when this happens, but if you were caught in a school or construction zone, the chances increase for receiving a ticket. In Florida, speeding is […] read more