Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course.
A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the more serious violations. Furthermore, there may be other options available to you, so you should always seek legal advice before just paying your traffic ticket.
If you have been issued a traffic ticket in Florida, The Ticket Lawyers can help. Our traffic ticket attorneys have years of combined experience working with clients in counties across the state. We can help you to fight your charges and protect your driving record.
If Florida is not your home state, we can attend traffic court on your behalf. Having a lawyer on the side who is experienced in the laws and rules in the local area is invaluable.
For a free consultation, contact us today at (866)-985-7740. Our lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
The online and in-person 4-hour basic driver improvement courses (BDI) are offered for all moving and non-moving violations, with the following exceptions:
After being issued with a citation, all drivers should be handed information about driver improvement courses from the police officer, and this information can be used to give notice of intent to attend Florida traffic school. All courses must be approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV). The options for satisfying the citation can be found on the back of the ticket.
Drivers must select this option within 30 days and are then given between 60 and 90 days from the date of the citation to complete it. If drivers are not given the relevant information, they should contact the FHSMV office.
When online traffic school or an in-person course has been completed, drivers will need to provide the clerk’s office with a completion certificate. This should be the office in the county where the traffic citation was issued.
Basic driver improvement courses are a positive way to avoid serious penalties and protect your driving license. Drivers who are able to successfully complete the course will benefit from the following:
In addition, a driver will not face an increase in their insurance premiums. Insurance companies cannot increase their current rate, cancel their policy, or issue a non-renewal notice due to the violation as long as:
Unfortunately, the driver will still be required to pay the ticket’s fine and pay for the 4-hour basic driver improvement course. But these expenses, in the long-term, can be considerably lower than what would likely be paid for overtime to your insurance company. Drivers also have the option of online traffic school, which saves them having to travel to settle the traffic citation.
Having said this, we advise that you seek legal advice before agreeing to the terms of your ticket because the options available may not be what is best for you. Contact our Florida law firm today, and we can offer free legal advice on which steps to take following your traffic citation. You may be able to have your ticket dismissed without spending time and money on a 4-hour basic driver improvement course.
Without the right legal support, you could have points added to your driving record. The number of points given will depend upon the nature of your infraction.
It’s important to remember that if you fail to attend a driver improvement course after agreeing to do so, this will be considered an admission of guilt. As a result, you will face additional fees and fines, and you will have points added to your driving record for the traffic violation.
A driver will be suspended for points if they accumulate:
If you are facing license suspension due to an accumulation of points, call The Ticket Lawyers today, and we can help you apply for a hardship license or license reinstatement or work to have your traffic ticket dismissed so that the points are not added to your record. We can also appear in court on your behalf.
In the State of Florida, a 4-hour basic driver improvement course is mandatory when you have been cited for one of the following reasons:
Drivers can also complete an advanced driver improvement (ADI) course. These courses are usually set by the court if your driver’s license has been suspended following an accumulation of points.
Drivers will not have the option of in-person or online traffic school if:
An experienced lawyer may be able to arrange a plea bargain in court on your behalf that could enable you to take a BUI instead of accepting the points that could lead to automatic suspension.
After being issued with a traffic ticket, many drivers assume that they will not be able to contest it, especially if it appears as though the evidence is stacked up against them. But this is not true. There is a wide range of defenses available to any driver who is issued with a citation that can be used in court. For example, an experienced lawyer can contest the accuracy of a device used to calculate your speed. Traffic school comes with a fee, but if you can have your charges dismissed without taking a course, you will save this expense.
We never advise that you should ignore a traffic ticket. Every citation must be responded to within 30 days of receiving it, but you can respond by stating that you wish to contest it in court, and we can help from here!
For minor traffic violations in Florida, such as speeding, a law enforcement officer has only 5 days to file a ticket with the county court clerk, according to Florida Statute 316.650. However, there is no set rule for what happens if the officer does not comply with this. One court may dismiss your ticket on this basis, but another may choose not to. The right traffic attorney will file a motion to dismiss on your behalf. If your ticket is not thrown out due to being filed late, it is worth noting that you have the right to a speedy court trial. So if a date for your court hearing is not given in time, your ticket would have to be dismissed. In the case of a misdemeanor, your court date must be within 90 days of you receiving the traffic citation.
In the State of Florida, even a minor driving violation can have serious consequences. Any points added to your license following a traffic violation can lead to increased insurance premiums and even license suspension. After any traffic ticket, it is in your best interest to instruct a lawyer to represent you. Don’t accept the terms of your citation to have the matter settled quickly. We can advise you on what steps to take in order to avoid long-term negative consequences.
The Ticket Lawyers have vast amounts of experience in defending traffic violations and can offer a wide range of skills and expertise through our team of professional Florida traffic ticket attorneys. For a free consultation, contact us today at (866)-985-7740. Our lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
It is easy to pick up speeding tickets in Florida, and many people dismiss them as being non-serious events that have few consequences. However, it is important to be aware that even though speeding tickets that are issued for going well above the posted limit are not usually classed as felonies, they do come with […] read more
The state of Florida has very strict driving laws that prohibit all kinds of speeding, and although the charges won’t necessarily carry a jail sentence, you will definitely find yourself with a fine and points on your license if you are caught speeding. However, while you can’t go to jail for speeding, you can receive […] read more
Every state in America has a similar point system when it comes to driving violations, but Florida’s point system is particularly strict compared to the others. If you are caught by law enforcement violating the laws and regulations of the road, then you will receive points on your license, with the number of points depending […] read more
Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course. A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the […] read more
Everyone knows that being caught speeding is annoying, especially if you were pulled over for going only 9 mph over the speed limit. Police often let people off with warnings when this happens, but if you were caught in a school or construction zone, the chances increase for receiving a ticket. In Florida, speeding is […] read more