Moving violations and nonmoving violations in Florida result in points being added to your driving record. If you get too many points on your license, you can potentially have your license suspended or even revoked. You can also expect to see an increase in your insurance premiums, which can dramatically impact your finances.
However, there are ways to have points removed from your driving record. Your options include attending a Florida traffic school, waiting until they expire, or hiring a lawyer to fight your traffic court case on your behalf. Racking up points can have unintended consequences, so it’s important that you consider all possible ways to have them removed.
If you have points on your driving record or have been served a traffic citation, contact The Ticket Lawyers today. We can help you fight your Florida traffic court case and hopefully get your ticket reduced or thrown out entirely.
If you have any questions about how our representation can benefit your case, don’t hesitate to call us now at (866)-985-7740.
A driver improvement course, otherwise known as a defensive driving course or traffic school, is a way for you to take points off your driving record. This is the quickest and easiest way to remove points from your license.
To attend a driver improvement course (DIC), you must contact the relevant court within 30 days of receiving your Florida traffic ticket. Inform them you wish to avoid points on your license from the moving violations by participating in a DIC.
You can find a list of approved traffic courses on the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV) website. They are not expensive and usually cost around $25.
Every approved course will take 4-hours, whether that be in person or online. You must get information from the court regarding their steps for submission beforehand. Find out what date you need to submit your completion certificate and their preferred submission method (fax, email, etc.).
There are limits to how many times someone can take a driver improvement course. You will only be able to register for a DIC once every 12 months and only five times total throughout your life. In other words, if you’ve already attended traffic school once in the last year, you won’t be able to use it again to avoid points on your record.
The other way to remove points from your license is to wait out their time limit. It takes 36 months from the date the traffic ticket was issued for points to come off your license. If you can’t attend driving school and don’t want to fight the ticket in court, this is the only other method to get them removed from your record.
For example, if you received a speeding violation worth 3 points in December of 2020, this means that it won’t be until December of 2023 when those same points are removed. Receiving more in that time period adds to your total, and new points will have different removal dates.
If you already have points on your license, or you won’t be able to afford the insurance premiums from new points, The Ticket Lawyers recommend attending traffic school to avoid any being added to your record. If you have already attended traffic school within 1 year before your citation, we recommend fighting your violation in court.
The State of Florida lists the available penalties for traffic points. Essentially, if you receive a certain number of traffic points on your driving record within a specified period of time, you can have your license suspended or revoked. The following schedule outlines the exact penalties:
In addition to the possibility of a license suspension or revocation, your car insurance rates will increase if you accumulate points on your record. How much will depend on your specific coverage plan, but you can expect your premiums to increase by hundreds of dollars, if not thousands of dollars, per year.
It’s important to get points off your license, if possible. Contact The Ticket Lawyers today to see if we can help tidy up your driving record.
Different traffic violations carry different point totals in Florida. Depending on the nature of your violation, you can be served with points from 1 – 6.
According to Florida Statute 322.27, a non-exhaustive list of the points available for different violations are as follows:
Committing any of these offenses will result in points being added to your driving record if you pay the fine or lose your case in court.
There are other point-worthy nonmoving and moving violations not listed above. If you’d like to know how many points your traffic violation may be worth, contact The Ticket Lawyers to find out more.
If you’ve been served a traffic citation, it is in your best interest to contact a lawyer as soon as possible to find out what they might be able to do for you. Before you pay your fine, you may have the option of fighting it in court. A lawyer can help you prepare for this process and even show up to court on your behalf. This will save you valuable time and money in the long run.
A lawyer may be able to get your ticket dismissed, removing the possibility of points being added to your driving record. If you have a serious moving violation that can result in 4 or more points, a lawyer may be able to have the ticket reduced to a less serious citation. Your insurance premiums will stay the same, and you will avoid any court fines you may have faced.
If you have paid your traffic citation, a Florida traffic lawyer can’t do much to help you. By doing so, you technically plead guilty to the infraction. We can’t remove points that have already been added to your record.
So, before you choose to get it over and done with, consult an attorney from The Ticket Lawyers to find out what we can do for you.
Have you been ticketed for moving violations or other traffic infractions? Are you worried about the points that can be added to your license and the financial strain it may place on you?
Contact The Ticket Lawyers today to find out how we can help. Our lawyers offer exceptional legal services with a mountain of experience in Florida traffic courts. We can help set you up with traffic school, try to get your points reduced, or have your ticket dismissed. No matter how many points you may be facing, The Ticket Lawyers have your back.
Don’t wait. Call The Ticket Lawyers today to set up a free consultation with one of our Florida attorneys.
Call us now at (866)-985-7740.
It is easy to pick up speeding tickets in Florida, and many people dismiss them as being non-serious events that have few consequences. However, it is important to be aware that even though speeding tickets that are issued for going well above the posted limit are not usually classed as felonies, they do come with […] read more
The state of Florida has very strict driving laws that prohibit all kinds of speeding, and although the charges won’t necessarily carry a jail sentence, you will definitely find yourself with a fine and points on your license if you are caught speeding. However, while you can’t go to jail for speeding, you can receive […] read more
Every state in America has a similar point system when it comes to driving violations, but Florida’s point system is particularly strict compared to the others. If you are caught by law enforcement violating the laws and regulations of the road, then you will receive points on your license, with the number of points depending […] read more
Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course. A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the […] read more
Everyone knows that being caught speeding is annoying, especially if you were pulled over for going only 9 mph over the speed limit. Police often let people off with warnings when this happens, but if you were caught in a school or construction zone, the chances increase for receiving a ticket. In Florida, speeding is […] read more