How Long a DUI Stay on Record for Insurance? Driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Florida is a criminal offense. Drivers can expect to face DUI convictions if they are in control of a vehicle and appear to be ‘under the influence’ or have a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater. DUI charges can be handed out to drivers under the influence of either alcohol or drugs, or those that are found to have their normal faculties impaired. A DUI conviction usually results in a lengthy legal case that can take up to six months to be resolved.
If you have been charged with a Florida DUI conviction, you must hire a reputable defense attorney. Regardless of whether this is your first DUI conviction, the penalties for DUI convictions are incredibly harsh, and you can have the conviction on your driving record for 75 years.
Insurance companies will likely increase your insurance rates once you have been charged, which is unfair to you if you are innocent. If you have falsely received a DUI conviction, contact The Ticket Lawyers today. Our law firm has a wealth of experience in defending clients in DUI conviction cases. Call us today at 855-323-8488.
Florida State Statute 316.193 outlines the following penalties in the state of Florida for a DUI conviction:
It is important to note that not only can a driver face these penalties for DUI conviction, but they will also have the conviction on their driving record for 75 years. This is an incredibly long time for it to stay on a driving record, and for most motorists, it will be a life sentence. Having a DUI on both your criminal record and driving record can have massive implications on you for the rest of your life. Not only will insurance companies increase your rates, but you may struggle to find employment and travel abroad.
Your auto insurance will more than likely increase after you have been convicted of DUI. This is because the Florida Statute 324.023 requires a person convicted of DUI to carry certain minimum insurance coverage for three years following their conviction.
If you have been convicted previously of DUI, insurance companies will usually only look three years or five years back on your current driving record when calculating your insurance rates. Therefore, if you have previously been convicted more than three years ago, you don’t have to necessarily worry about your insurance rates increasing as the likelihood is that they will not check your driving record that far back.
Insurance companies will only increase your rates if you are convicted. For the best chance of beating your charge and avoiding insurance companies increasing your rates, you should seek the help of a defense lawyer at The Ticket Lawyers in Florida. Our law firm has accumulated an immense amount of knowledge and experience in defending people charged with DUI.
Unfortunately, under Florida state law, DUI charges can never be expunged or sealed. A charge will stay on your criminal record forever and on your driving record for 75 years. Not only this, but it is illegal to receive a “withhold of adjudication” in a DUI case in the state of Florida. This involves a judge ordering probation but not convicting the defendant so that both their driving record and criminal record stay clean.
As a DUI charge can stay on your driving record for such a long time in the state of Florida, The Ticket Lawyers advise that if you have been arrested for DUI that you immediately seek the help of a criminal defense lawyer to fight the charge on your behalf.
Although, there are a few ways that you could avoid the charge being placed on your driving record. If you can prevent the charge from being placed on your driving record, you will be able to protect yourself and your driving record from potentially severe penalties.
Unfortunately, it is impossible to remove a DUI conviction from your criminal record. Although there are two ways that you could avoid a DUI from going on your record:
It is crucial to seek the help of a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible after being arrested for DUI. This is because once the charge is on your criminal record, it will stay on your record. It will also stay on your driving record for a very long time. These penalties are harsh, contact our defense lawyers today at The Ticket Lawyers for more information.
The penalties you can face for a DUI charge are severe. The legal process surrounding these charges in Florida is very complex and can be daunting for those who have been falsely charged. The Ticket Lawyers advise that if you have been charged with DUI that you seek the help of a skilled defense attorney to give you all of the information you will need.
The first stage involved in a DUI conviction in the state of Florida is the arrest, followed quickly by the booking and bail. The stages after this will involve the arraignment, preliminary hearing, pretrial motions, plea bargains, and the trial. This process can take a very long time, but it will ultimately result in a sentence.
In Florida, you will have ten days following your DUI charge to request an Administrative Review Hearing with the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV). Our law firm recommends that you request a hearing as you could get your driving license reinstated and discover what evidence the state has against you.
A DUI charge can stay on a driving record for an incredibly long time and can impact a person for the rest of their life. Unfortunately, these charges can never be removed from a criminal record. Therefore it is crucial that if you have been falsely arrested with DUI that you seek the help of a skilled defense lawyer to fight your charge and protect your record.
The Ticket Lawyers in Florida have very committed relationships with our clients as we strive to achieve the very best outcomes. If you need to hire a defense lawyer or have any questions concerning your DUI conviction, don’t hesitate to contact us today. We can give you all the information and help you need. Call us to schedule a consultation at 855-323-8488.
It is easy to pick up speeding tickets in Florida, and many people dismiss them as being non-serious events that have few consequences. However, it is important to be aware that even though speeding tickets that are issued for going well above the posted limit are not usually classed as felonies, they do come with […] read more
The state of Florida has very strict driving laws that prohibit all kinds of speeding, and although the charges won’t necessarily carry a jail sentence, you will definitely find yourself with a fine and points on your license if you are caught speeding. However, while you can’t go to jail for speeding, you can receive […] read more
Every state in America has a similar point system when it comes to driving violations, but Florida’s point system is particularly strict compared to the others. If you are caught by law enforcement violating the laws and regulations of the road, then you will receive points on your license, with the number of points depending […] read more
Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course. A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the […] read more
Everyone knows that being caught speeding is annoying, especially if you were pulled over for going only 9 mph over the speed limit. Police often let people off with warnings when this happens, but if you were caught in a school or construction zone, the chances increase for receiving a ticket. In Florida, speeding is […] read more