If you are a first time recipient of a DUI charge in the state of Florida, you might not be fully aware of the penalties you could potentially face as a driver. Florida’s DMV points to the fact that driving under the influence has been a contributing factor in many fatal and non fatal accidents in the area as their reason for implementing such harsh penalties on first time offenders. Under Florida law, drivers suspected of intoxication are required to comply with officials if asked to take a blood test or urine sample in order to prove their sobriety. Any non-compliance with this law could lead to an automatic one year suspension of the perpetrator’s license to drive a motor vehicle.
Drivers under the Age of 21
The state of Florida firmly enforces a zero tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21, regardless to their number of previous convictions. This means that driving while intoxicated, even if the blood alcohol level falls drastically below the legal limit, can still result in their license suspension, in addition to a number of fines and penalties. The average price in fines and expenses for first time DUI offenders, regardless to their age, is estimated to be in the $8,000 range.
List of Penalties
Challenging DUI charges without the help of a professional attorney is never advisable, even for first time offenders. If you have incurred a DUI charge in the state of Florida, you could face any or all of the penalties listed below.
How These Penalties can Impact Your Life
Each of the penalties listed above can restrict your freedom both on and off the road. Fines and court fees can add up, especially if you lose your ability to drive. Many drivers who lose their licenses are forced to rely on others for day to day chores and routines. If the commute to work is too far to walk every day, or if you are in an area where public transportation stops running at a certain time, it is possible that losing your license could result in the loss of your job as well. If you are convicted of a DUI and are sentenced to any term of imprisonment, that sentence can affect your ability to be hired in the future. Even probation can be debilitating in many ways and freedoms are definitely under restraint. Hiring a qualified Florida DUI attorney is of the utmost importance for first time DUI offenders in order to defend you successfully on your DUI case.
It is easy to pick up speeding tickets in Florida, and many people dismiss them as being non-serious events that have few consequences. However, it is important to be aware that even though speeding tickets that are issued for going well above the posted limit are not usually classed as felonies, they do come with […] read more
The state of Florida has very strict driving laws that prohibit all kinds of speeding, and although the charges won’t necessarily carry a jail sentence, you will definitely find yourself with a fine and points on your license if you are caught speeding. However, while you can’t go to jail for speeding, you can receive […] read more
Every state in America has a similar point system when it comes to driving violations, but Florida’s point system is particularly strict compared to the others. If you are caught by law enforcement violating the laws and regulations of the road, then you will receive points on your license, with the number of points depending […] read more
Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course. A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the […] read more
Everyone knows that being caught speeding is annoying, especially if you were pulled over for going only 9 mph over the speed limit. Police often let people off with warnings when this happens, but if you were caught in a school or construction zone, the chances increase for receiving a ticket. In Florida, speeding is […] read more