How Long Does It Take for a Reckless Driving Charge to Be Removed From Your Record?When you operate a vehicle with “willful or wanton disregard of person or property,” you are classed as driving recklessly by Florida law as set out by Florida Statute 316.192. This can lead to a Reckless Driving charge. A wet driving charge is similar to a normal reckless driving charge; only it involves alcohol.
First, offenders who have committed reckless driving offenses can be punished by law with up to 6 months in jail. They may also receive a fine. Secondary offenders will see increased penalties and may be faced with a felony charge. You may also receive four points on your driving license too.
Reckless driving charges, while not as serious as things like DUI’s or DWI’s can still have long-lasting effects on your life. If you are convicted, then you may face problems finding jobs or housing opportunities. Even if you manage to avoid conviction, a reckless driving charge can still stay on file for the majority of your life.
If you have only just been arrested for reckless driving and you are unsure what the best steps to take next are, make sure you call us here at The Ticket Lawyers today.
We can offer a free consultation and unbiased legal advice on your best course of action. Reckless driving can stay on your record for a long time, and your best chance to fight it is at the very beginning.
Our number is 855-323-8488, we don’t charge for our free consultation, so give us a call for some free, unbiased advice.
Reckless driving charges, like a DUI or DWI, stay on record for 75 years. Considering the age, you have to be in order to learn how to drive, and this is a life sentence for most motorists.
The only chance you have to have your charges removed from your records is via two methods, expungement or sealing. In order to qualify for expungement or sealing, you must have been arrested but not convicted of reckless driving. You will need to seek the help of a skilled criminal defense lawyer, like those found here at The Ticket Place. They will help you through the complex process necessary in order to seek expungement of your records.
Sealed records are not accessible to the majority of the public but may still be viewed by certain government entities. Expunged records cannot be viewed by anyone except under strict court orders.
If you have been asked by a party to disclose your criminal history, after your records have been expunged, you should seek the help of your attorney.
In the majority of cases, you should not have to acknowledge or disclose any of your records if they have been sealed or expunged. There are a few exceptions to this, usually when you are seeking employment with the government or to work with at-risk individuals like children or the elderly. You will also have to disclose your records if you are looking to purchase a firearm.
The first step is to file an application with the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. This will include you giving fingerprints and must be signed in front of a notary. If you are looking to expunge your records, you will also need a State Attorney to complete part of the application.
If you pass the eligibility tests, you will then need to file a petition in the jurisdiction where the reckless driving arrest took place. Your attorney will be able to obtain the correct forms for this and will usually have this already filled out for you,
After these forms have been completed, they need to be filed and served to the relevant State Attorneys office. This must be done within six months of being deemed eligible.
Once the documents have been served, a judge will decide whether your request requires a hearing or not. If not, then you should expect an answer in around one month’s time, although this can change depending on the backlog.
Here at The Law Place , we have represented numerous reckless driving defendants and assisted clients just like you in having their records sealed or expunged.
Call us today at 855-323-8488, and we can discuss your case.
It is easy to pick up speeding tickets in Florida, and many people dismiss them as being non-serious events that have few consequences. However, it is important to be aware that even though speeding tickets that are issued for going well above the posted limit are not usually classed as felonies, they do come with […] read more
The state of Florida has very strict driving laws that prohibit all kinds of speeding, and although the charges won’t necessarily carry a jail sentence, you will definitely find yourself with a fine and points on your license if you are caught speeding. However, while you can’t go to jail for speeding, you can receive […] read more
Every state in America has a similar point system when it comes to driving violations, but Florida’s point system is particularly strict compared to the others. If you are caught by law enforcement violating the laws and regulations of the road, then you will receive points on your license, with the number of points depending […] read more
Traffic school usually comes in the form of a 4-hour basic driver improvement course. A 4-hour Florida traffic course is a great option for many drivers who have been issued traffic tickets in Florida. However, they are not available in every case and will not always mean that your ticket will be dismissed, especially for the […] read more
Everyone knows that being caught speeding is annoying, especially if you were pulled over for going only 9 mph over the speed limit. Police often let people off with warnings when this happens, but if you were caught in a school or construction zone, the chances increase for receiving a ticket. In Florida, speeding is […] read more